Dodge Challenger Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

· Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I've been using a USB drive for music in my 2022 Challenger. As a quick test, I loaded up a 64gb drive with a couple of songs to test it out, and everything went fine. I then tried a 256gb drive and started getting device errors/reconnect device, which I did but with no success. This occurred in both the USB 1 and 2 slots. The drives were formatted with exFAT.

• Is there a capacity limit?
  • Is there a known issue?
  • Has anyone else experienced this issue? If so, were you able to find a solution?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

· Registered
2,751 Posts
I have in the back of my mind that 128s may also be too large.

Reactions: The Rotagilla

· Registered
2011 SXT
5,735 Posts
The Problem is most Units that play MP3, AAC, FLAC, WAV figure if your going to need more then 64 Gig of Storage
then your going to use a device that connects to the Internet.

Now give you a few numbers
On average 64gb USB Drive can store approx 5,749 Songs in 320kbps in Mp3, FLAC 192khz 24 Bit 336 Songs, Wav same 192khz 24 Bit 199 Songs
I'm pretty sure that is more then Enough tunes if not buy a nice multi pack of drives on Amazon, Sandisk best brand and make you up some
different thumb drives like I do and have a small case to keep them in and label so your all set.

I got a 80's Misc Tunes, Metal Tunes, Classic Rock, 70's, and AOR Albums, and Cruising Tunes etc.

· Registered
529 Posts