Dodge Challenger Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2016 challenger sxt, after almost 2 months of having it, got a rattling noise, thought it was rocker arm, took to the dealership where I got it from and they said it was something deep in the engine, I don't have a warranty. They gave me the option of buying a used v6 or a new one to replace and they would put it in for me, I was thinking of getting a v8 and having them put it in, I'm not experienced in cars so I don't know all the requirements to do this, is this a good idea?

·
Registered
195 Posts
The dealer won't put in the V8 for you they will only put in what was taken out, customer pay or not. It isn't exactly a plug-and-play swap. It can be done with the right expertise and amount of money. If you still owe money on it I would recommend you put a used (but still good) V6 back in it. You would likely take the lowest value hit in that scenario because at least the engine type still matches the VIN if you were to trade it in or sell it in the future. If someone checks the VIN and it indicates a V6 but there is a V8 in the car a savvy prospective buyer will likely turn it down or offer far less because of potential problems from a botched swap. If a dealership runs the VIN and sees the discrepancy you can forget about any type of reasonable offer because they likely will ship it straight to auction.

If you want a V8 do it the right way and either take the hit on the broken trade now OR put a used V6 back in it, drive it until the market cools then trade up for a V8. You will come out ahead monetarily in the long run and probably save a lot of headaches too.

·
Premium Member
2,989 Posts
If you put in a V8, you are opening up a can of worms. You'll also need a larger rear axle, and some bigger brakes. I'm not sure about the transmission either.

·
Premium Member