Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,384 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok it's just above freezing here and i just washed both cars. the water turns to ice, what a pain in the as$.
Now i gotta go back out there and do the wheels and jambs.
my hands are like blocks of ice.
but they look good LOL

5,134 Posts
Yeah it's always a rush to wash the car before storing it ... Gotta keep an eye on the weather reports.

I envy the guys like Junkman who have interior washes and drains.

·
Registered
448 Posts
I'll be right over...mine is kinda dirty right now. It's going to get detailed by Feb by an autobody fanatic I know. We're going to wetsand and polish the whole beast so it's even and looks like glass! Figure there's no point in washing it cuz its sitting in the driveway till then.

·
Registered
3,380 Posts
im a plumber and put hot/cold mixing hose bibs in garages for people like you. Moen makes one that turns hot/cold like a shower valve.....or you can be like me and have a hot only one...my hands burn from the 100% hot water coming out when i wash cars in the winter...because its so hot it doesnt freeze to quickly and i can often towel dry it before it freezes.....depends if your in Alaska or not i guess...if its close to 30 youll be fine...a plumber could do this for you for around $300-400 depending on how close your hot water pipe is to the garage

·
Super Moderator
15,104 Posts
Rubber gloves also help with keeping your hands from going numb and turning blue. The heavy latex/rubber dishwashing gloves to a pretty good job and are fairly durable for the job.

Almost 2 years ago, I got up on a 30* morning and did some chores indoors, figuring it would warm up some more by the time I got outside.

Got the warm layers of clothes on, gloves on hands and got the car washed. Went to dry the car and there was a thin sheet of ice that flew off the roof, hood and trunk went I went to wipe it dry with towel!