Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
541 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I went to start prepping my trunk for sound deadening and was stripping the liner and went to pull the Styrofoam piece where the spare tire should be and noticed about half an inch of water was accumulated at the bottom. Does anyone know where this could have come from? I'm worried about a leak now. Has anyone experienced this?

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

Attachments

·
Registered
1,265 Posts
Wow, I'll be checking mine for any issues. Thanks for sharing and sorry about your trunk. I would find the source and get it fixed ASAP.

·
Premium Member
1,803 Posts
Water leaks are hard to find, I used to fix them when I was a tech. Are any of the panels wet? Is the carpet wet? That will give you a clue where its coming from. If no, pull all the panels out of the trunk and have someone run water over the car. Pay close attention to the rear window, trunk seal, where the tail lights seal to the body.

Good luck.

·
Registered
541 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
No indication of where it came from. I pulled it up as im about to do audio installation. I'm kinda nervous to be running aftermarket stereo equipment with potential water leaks...

·
Registered
181 Posts
I had the same thing happen, It was my rear tail light was leaking around the seal. I had the dealership replace a burnt out tail light bulb and they did not get it tighten down correctly.They had to clean the trunk pan and re-seal it so I would not have a rusting problem down the road. Replaced the battery tray and cables also.

·
Registered
19 Posts
I went to start prepping my trunk for sound deadening and was stripping the liner and went to pull the Styrofoam piece where the spare tire should be and noticed about half an inch of water was accumulated at the bottom. Does anyone know where this could have come from? I'm worried about a leak now. Has anyone experienced this?

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App