Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
320 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So I stopped by my local stereo shop that has done work for me in the past. I asked about adding a sub just to add a little bass to the music, I'm not looking for something that can be heard 2 blocks away, just something for me.

I love the way the factory kicker box is off to the side and doesn't take up a lot of room in the trunk so I asked about building a custom box exactly like the factory one. The guy said he could make the box, carpet it same color as the trunk liner, and include a 10" alpine (forgot what model but think its the latest) or kicker cvr sub, 400 mono amp, didn't ask what brand, all wiring including the line converter and installation, I'm looking at 345.

What do you guys think about the price?

·
Registered
112 Posts
I'm certainly not a stereo expert but that sounds like a pretty decent price to me.

·
Registered
540 Posts
I am a stereo expert, that's a great price... almost too good. Probably used/stolen parts or a cheap Chinese amp.Probably doesn't value his labor highly as well if he's including making a box for that price. Go for it but make sure it all works before you never hear from him again.

·
Registered
320 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
I understand your concern with poor quality installers but this is a legit shop and has done work for me in the past, but not in building a box. He's installed alarms, stereos and tint in other cars. The only thing that concerns me is that I don't know the brand of the amp.

I'm also considering just buying everything from him and doing the install myself. Although it has been a while since I have installed a sub and amp, I'm sure I will remember once I mess around with the amp settings. This also allows me to do the work myself and the way I want it done.

·
Registered
540 Posts
What's the RMS wattage on the amp? 400 is probably the advertised peak under optimal conditions.

·
Registered