Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My daughter's car - 2010 Challenger R/T

Passenger side headlight went out - no low or high beam. I'm no hardcore mechanic but I can certainly change out a headlight BUT when I twisted out the "bulb" socket there is no bulb, just some wires running into (and apparently well attached) somewhere inside the headlight assembly casing. I'm not familiar with HID lights but this doesn't look anything like what I see online. Anyone know what kind of headlight this is and/or how to change it out? I hate to have to go to the dealer.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you, but no. When I take loose the "bulb" housing, there is no bulb on it, just some red wires (I think 4, I'd have to look again to be sure) that go inside the fixture and then split into 2 sets of wires. The hole is only the size of a standard replacement bulb, so I can't get my hand in there to figure out where those wires go but they are attached to something (i.e. don't pull out freely).

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Ok, thank you for your help. Looks like a visit to the dealer service department...................... DANG!

·
Super Moderator
2016 SXT Plus Blacktop
17,124 Posts
Welcome to Challengertalk bgoodwill. Even an HID is a bulb. Picture would be worth a 1000 words. If the car had Angel Eyes, or halos installed, the existing bulb could possibly not be there. Was the car bought new? Do the headlights look like rings as in this video?

Stock lights would be a bulb

A Guy

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #9 (Edited)
Thank you Ken Kamins! I was looking for a hard plastic cover like I have seen on You Tube videos (newer cars?). It makes sense that the softer rubber covering is what's on my car. Should be an easy fix now that I know that. So many dollars saved by avoiding the dealer.