Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here, I see a lot of you folks add a catch can to your rides: question is why? I understand that it collect oil from blow by(?), then what happens? Do you dump the oil, add it back? or is it just a good thing to do? thanks

·
Super Moderator
14,021 Posts
This topic has been discussed many times on this forum.

Basically, the air that comes through your intake system and goes into the combustion chamber won't just be air. It will contain some oil particles which can, eventually, build up in your intake (see photos, below). This can cause:

Knocking
Pre-ignition
Loss in power
Loss in fuel economy

An oil catch does a good job of catching or preventing the oil from re-entering the intake tract. A catch can is placed right after the PCV and before the intercooler, if so equipped (see photo, below of my catch can). This means that a more pure (sometimes 100% pure) air mixture will go through the intercooler and intake valves. A more pure air mixture entering the intake valves means no caking and none of the symptoms listed above.

An oil catch can doesn't add any power or make any cool noises, so it is often overlooked when modifying vehicles. What is does, however, is prevent a loss of power, as miles pile up, due to your PCM retarding the timing to prevent pre-ignition. Simply stated, a catch can will ensure you are always running the most power possible by having a cleaner intake tract free of oil.

Also, you should never pour the blow-by back into the engine. It is a nasty brew of oil, water, gasoline and acids.

Attachments

·
Registered
352 Posts