Dodge Challenger Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
745 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Getting ready to put a wideband in my 5.7. What side did you install it on and why?
I thought about doing dual widebands instead of just one bank reading. I know some engines run leaner on one bank then the other. Just trying to figure out whats best route to go
 

·
Registered
2020 Dodge Challenger Hellraisin Scat Pack
Joined
·
3,982 Posts
No experience in adding wide band O2 sensors to a car equipped with narrow band sensors. But wide band sensors are used to more precisely fuel the engine.

Can't understand the logic that leads you to believe only one half the engine needs to be precisely fueled.

My recommendation is install wide band sensors on both banks or no banks. Go both or go home.
 

·
Registered
2020 Dodge Challenger Hellraisin Scat Pack
Joined
·
3,982 Posts
The wide band is for the a/f meter.
Yes. Just like the narrow band sensors are used to meter the correct fuel to ensure the right a/f mixture is delivered to the engine.

In all my cars with 6 or more cylinders each bank had its own pair of O2 sensors. The first was in some cases a narrow band sensor but with my Porsche Turbo and my Hellcat the #1 sensor is a wide band sensor. The #2 sensor is a narrow band sensor.

There are two short term and two long term fuel trims. Each bank is thus independently fueled based on how the cylinders of each bank are operating and how they are operating is determined primarily by the #1 sensor reading.

There will be differences otherwise the auto maker would have opted to just one set of sensors to save money.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
745 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
If you dont run an a/f meter please excuse yourself from this thread. I understand the function of 02 sensors more then most people. Im an auto tech and have been for over 20 years. I just want to know if one is fine or if i need to monitor both banks for the bottle
 

·
Registered
2010 R/T Classic 6M
Joined
·
1,226 Posts
What's your setup? That will help determine if you need one or both banks. I'm running just driver's side myself with cam,fbo.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
745 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Ive got 5.7 with long tubes, no cats, borla s-type. One step colder plugs, cai, 125 shot but want to spray 200 at times. Ive got stand alone fuel system for the nitrous also. Going to put 274 cam in soon
 

·
Premium Member
2011 R/T 6M Bright White, 590whp 490wtq, Whipple 10psi, 274 cam, 1 7/8 LT headers, 429 gears
Joined
·
1,249 Posts
Ive got 5.7 with long tubes, no cats, borla s-type. One step colder plugs, cai, 125 shot but want to spray 200 at times. Ive got stand alone fuel system for the nitrous also. Going to put 274 cam in soon
I'm running only the driver side, when I hit the dyno we put the Dyno wideband on passengers side. The was no variance in the reading between the driver and passenger side... IMO if you aren't going to go as far as setting one up for each cylinder and really dial in the afr for each cylinder, one side is fine.

Sent from my SM-T350 using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
2010 R/T Classic 6M
Joined
·
1,226 Posts
The important part is the nitrous/fueling system. It's possible for one side to go lean/rich. But it sounds like you have a pretty good setup for the nitrous, at a 125 shot I wouldn't even worry about it and stick with one wideband.
For 200 shot, is the motor forged? A stock 5.7 could handle it but it's the very top end limit, and with your other mods that means even more power=more stress on internals. I'd be very careful on a 200, and that's where things can get a little sketchy with one bank getting a little leaner or richer from more/less nitrous or fuel. That's why they sell those port injection kits so each cylinder gets equal amounts of spray. Also you may wanna go 1 step colder on the plug for 200. I'd run 2 widebands for 200+.

My knowledge is a mix of experience, research, and just things I've heard from other people, so I'm definitely no expert.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
745 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Ya i thought about running egt in the headers, but didnt think it was going to be necessary. Ive had a feeling one wideband setup was fine. Just double checking. Better to be safe than sorry
Engine is not forged and should be able to handle the 200. Ls guys do it with same style stock pistons, just pull the timing out. Thats why ive got a stand alone fuel system for it. Colder plugs are already in it. I really dont care if it comes apart or not. If it does that just makes the 440 go into the car sooner.
 

·
Registered
2020 Dodge Challenger Hellraisin Scat Pack
Joined
·
3,982 Posts
If you dont run an a/f meter please excuse yourself from this thread. I understand the function of 02 sensors more then most people. Im an auto tech and have been for over 20 years. I just want to know if one is fine or if i need to monitor both banks for the bottle
You have been an auto tech for 20 years yet are apparently unaware that no auto maker at least any I know about and I know a few: Ford, Chevy, Dodge, Porsche, BMW, M-B; all run two sensors per bank.
 

·
Registered
2010 R/T Classic 6M
Joined
·
1,226 Posts
You have been an auto tech for 20 years yet are apparently unaware that no auto maker at least any I know about and I know a few: Ford, Chevy, Dodge, Porsche, BMW, M-B; all run two sensors per bank.
Having that narrowband on both sides can save an engine from failing by adjusting fuel trims. The wideband he's looking to use is for tuning purposes. As long as the engine is running correctly while tuning I don't see why he would need one on both banks with his setup. And if it wasn't running correctly the fuel trims would be a dead giveaway thanks to the narrowband o2s.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
745 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 · (Edited)
You have been an auto tech for 20 years yet are apparently unaware that no auto maker at least any I know about and I know a few: Ford, Chevy, Dodge, Porsche, BMW, M-B; all run two sensors per bank.
The secondary o2's are to check cat efficiency. They have nothing to do with fuel metering for the engine. They are basically useless but to check the cat. Thats why they can be eliminated in a tune.
All the manufacturers run 2 o2's per bank nowadays. Not just the ones you listed.
 

·
Registered
2015 Challenger R/T Plus 8 Speed
Joined
·
8,278 Posts
Old thread resurrection, I know.

I can not seem to find anyone near me to install a wideband bung in my car. I have contacted my tuner Twice over a month and heard nothing back so I have to assume they don't want to do it because the headers (long tube) are already in my car. I wish they would have offered or recommended a wideband install (at least the extra bung when installing the headers originally). Anyone know of a tuner in the N.E. Ohio area? Preferably in Ohio that speaks MOPAR?
 

·
Premium Member
2011 R/T 6M Bright White, 590whp 490wtq, Whipple 10psi, 274 cam, 1 7/8 LT headers, 429 gears
Joined
·
1,249 Posts
Old thread resurrection, I know.

I can not seem to find anyone near me to install a wideband bung in my car. I have contacted my tuner Twice over a month and heard nothing back so I have to assume they don't want to do it because the headers (long tube) are already in my car. I wish they would have offered or recommended a wideband install (at least the extra bung when installing the headers originally). Anyone know of a tuner in the N.E. Ohio area? Preferably in Ohio that speaks MOPAR?
I had my wideband bung installed for ~40. I had it installed in the mid pipe just past the collector. I went with Innovate LC2 it came with the bung. Just order the wideband and have a good exhaust shop add the bung... That's my recommendation anyway.
 

·
Registered
2015 Challenger R/T Plus 8 Speed
Joined
·
8,278 Posts
I had my wideband bung installed for ~40. I had it installed in the mid pipe just past the collector. I went with Innovate LC2 it came with the bung. Just order the wideband and have a good exhaust shop add the bung... That's my recommendation anyway.
how hard is it to wire the gauge/sensor? I saw a video on youtube and I closed it where it got to wiring it to the ECM. Not a fan at all of me doing that. (When in doubt hire a professional).
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
76 Posts
I installed the innovate widebands in my '68. They seem like a good product, been in there a couple months now. I was able to weld my own bungs in, bought a $200 MIG welder from Harbor Freight. Put them in the X-pipe.

If I were you, OP, I would put 2 in. More information is more horsepower! Right? lol. I've been a mechanic for 35 years....I've see a few absurd things people do to try to get more power. Like the aftermarket over-oiled or never cleaned air filters, messing up MAF sensors.
 

·
Premium Member
2011 R/T 6M Bright White, 590whp 490wtq, Whipple 10psi, 274 cam, 1 7/8 LT headers, 429 gears
Joined
·
1,249 Posts
how hard is it to wire the gauge/sensor? I saw a video on youtube and I closed it where it got to wiring it to the ECM. Not a fan at all of me doing that. (When in doubt hire a professional).
I personally didn't think it was hard, but working on cars is a hobby of mine so I'm always doing something.

It's pretty basic wiring and there is a opening in the firewall on the drivers side already that can be used. I just used that opening and utilized the rubber grommet. I was able to just cut a slit and a small opening for the wideband and it went back in and sealed back up nicely. I didn't route it into the PCM, I powered it from the fuse box, fuse #10 isn't used (pretty sure it's #10 been a few years) and only powers with the car on so I tapped into that one. Got some braiding and routed the wire around the firewall with the rest of the wiring, pretty much looks OEM. I fed that to the same location as the feed for the wideband, wired up the diablo at the time, now I have a second connection to HP Tuners. I haven't gone the gauge install route yet.

If you typically don't DIY it it may be a little daunting.. you need to pull the bottom panel on the dash off to route everything nicely. Oh and for the calibration I used a power source that was on with the accessories on so the car didn't have to run through the calibration process.. Note: you do have to occasionally run a calibration. usually after the first 3 months then every 20k after that.
 

·
Premium Member
2011 R/T 6M Bright White, 590whp 490wtq, Whipple 10psi, 274 cam, 1 7/8 LT headers, 429 gears
Joined
·
1,249 Posts
I installed the innovate widebands in my '68. They seem like a good product, been in there a couple months now. I was able to weld my own bungs in, bought a $200 MIG welder from Harbor Freight. Put them in the X-pipe.

If I were you, OP, I would put 2 in. More information is more horsepower! Right? lol. I've been a mechanic for 35 years....I've see a few absurd things people do to try to get more power. Like the aftermarket over-oiled or never cleaned air filters, messing up MAF sensors.
Nice, do you see a big difference between the banks?... I ran one in each side when I dyno tuned it. The variation was very minimal if really any at all.
 

·
Registered
2015 Challenger R/T Plus 8 Speed
Joined
·
8,278 Posts
I personally didn't think it was hard, but working on cars is a hobby of mine so I'm always doing something.

It's pretty basic wiring and there is a opening in the firewall on the drivers side already that can be used. I just used that opening and utilized the rubber grommet. I was able to just cut a slit and a small opening for the wideband and it went back in and sealed back up nicely. I didn't route it into the PCM, I powered it from the fuse box, fuse #10 isn't used (pretty sure it's #10 been a few years) and only powers with the car on so I tapped into that one. Got some braiding and routed the wire around the firewall with the rest of the wiring, pretty much looks OEM. I fed that to the same location as the feed for the wideband, wired up the diablo at the time, now I have a second connection to HP Tuners. I haven't gone the gauge install route yet.

If you typically don't DIY it it may be a little daunting.. you need to pull the bottom panel on the dash off to route everything nicely. Oh and for the calibration I used a power source that was on with the accessories on so the car didn't have to run through the calibration process.. Note: you do have to occasionally run a calibration. usually after the first 3 months then every 20k after that.
Yeah, I watched this on my lunch break. Looks like you do not need to weld a bung on the collector for it?
I hate pulling interior apart and I want to mount it on my steering column too.
After installing my Paddle Shifters I swore off pulling the air bag again. I'll gladly write a check or pay cash. :D

 
1 - 20 of 30 Posts
Top